Skip to main content
17 Jun 2024

Who will triumph as AA Chefs’ Chef of 2024?

Who will triumph as AA Chefs’ Chef of 2024?

Get ready for the ultimate culinary highlight at the AA Hospitality Awards this September. The annual event will see Paul Ainsworth hand over the title of AA Chefs’ Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by Wellocks. This much sought-after accolade, first introduced in 1996, gives all AA Rosette-awarded chefs the power to decide who truly deserves the ultimate recognition for their outstanding performance over the past year. Voted for by their peers, the unique award is a popular and coveted title.

This year's shortlist features culinary luminaries from across the country, including Angela Hartnett of Murano, Lorna McNee at Cail Bruich and Aktar Islam of Opheem alongside nine other worthy chefs.

The awards will take place at the JW Marriott Grosvenor House in London on Monday 23 September, and will bring together over 1,000 guests from across the UK's hospitality landscape. The evening's meticulously crafted menu will be curated by none other than Paul Ainsworth, current AA Chefs’ Chef of the Year holder and restaurateur and owner of Paul Ainsworth at No6 in Padstow (4 AA Rosettes).

Commenting on the award, Paul Ainsworth said: “As a recipient of last year’s AA Chefs’ Chef award, I am privileged to continue the legacy of this prestigious accolade by creating the culinary experience for the AA Hospitality Awards 2024. Alongside the Grosvenor House hotel team, we can’t wait to bring a taste of Cornwall to London’s Park Lane for this year’s guests.”

Simon Numphud, Managing Director at AA Media, added: "In the celebratory ambiance of the AA Hospitality Awards, the Chefs' Chef accolade holds a special place, cherished by both the heart and taste buds. Distinguished from our other awards, this honour is unique as it places the decision in the hands of the chefs, rather than our inspectors. Let's toast to these extraordinary chefs who truly stand out in their field."

Representing the breadth of the UK, the 2024 Chefs’ Chef nominees bring together the best of the UK’s culinary landscape. The full shortlist is:

The AA Chefs' Chef of the Year is voted for by AA Rosette holders. Voting will close on 1 August 2024. The AA Hospitality Awards would also like to thank Wellocks for sponsoring the AA Chefs’ Chef of the Year Award.

Tickets for the AA Hospitality Awards on 23 September are available now from the awards website.

View all News



The Caterer